Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Decisions, decisions: Opinions?

Decisions, decisions: Opinions?

Old Oct 31st 2005, 5:54 pm
has lost The Game

Swerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond reputeSwerv-o has a reputation beyond repute
Default Decisions, decisions: Opinions?

I would appreciate anybody'd input with this quandry...

I am a teacher and was originally planning to get out to Oz in August '05, but given the ridiculous time it's taking me to get my very simple house sale through means that I proabably won't make it until the last week of November.

Given that the schools break up for the long vacation on December 22, and that I've pretty much missed most of the education recruitment already, should I still head out in late November or consider postponing, having a relaxing last christmas with friends and family in the UK, then head out to Oz early in the new year?

I'm concerned that 3 months without any real opportunity of obtaining a job, and the inevitable expense of christmas in Oz may scupper my plans and see me running out of money much earlier than anticipated. I also have the possibility of getting very regular supply work in the UK in the run up to christmas, which would help to bolster the coffers before I go.

I know this is a difficult thing to decide, so any thoughts would really be appreciated. I can't wait to go, but don't want to jeaopardise my long term future for the sake of 6 weeks. Don't worry - I won't hold anything you say against you!

S
Old Oct 31st 2005, 6:36 pm
Account Closed

suzy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Decisions, decisions: Opinions?