British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Couple needing career advice for moving to Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/couple-needing-career-advice-moving-australia-878928/)

annabaz Jun 15th 2016 10:48 am

Couple needing career advice for moving to Australia

Hiya,

We live in the UK and are both UK citizens in our twenties. My husband and I are wanting to move to Australia in the next couple of years and wondered if someone could give us some advice regarding both our careers?

I am a registered mental health nurse and from my understanding from other posts it is fairly easy to get a visa for Australia being a nurse as it is a trade that Australia wants?

My husband has a media and film degree from university and is looking at doing his teacher training for a year in September. People have told us that Australia do not accept UK teaching qualifications and that he shall have to retrain in Australia. Also, other posts have stated teaching jobs are incredibly hard to come by in Australia and that many of the posts for job vacancies are 'fake' as they just continue with the current postholder and extend their temporary contract.

Please could someone give us some advice as to whether he should do his teacher training in the UK or not bother?

Thanks,
Anna

mikelincs Jun 15th 2016 11:05 am

Re: Couple needing career advice for moving to Australia

Originally Posted by annabaz (Post 11974062)
Hiya,

We live in the UK and are both UK citizens in our twenties. My husband and I are wanting to move to Australia in the next couple of years and wondered if someone could give us some advice regarding both our careers?

I am a registered mental health nurse and from my understanding from other posts it is fairly easy to get a visa for Australia being a nurse as it is a trade that Australia wants?