Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Construction Process in Australia

Construction Process in Australia

Old Jan 14th 2009, 1:54 pm
Forum Regular

Idlewood is just really niceIdlewood is just really niceIdlewood is just really niceIdlewood is just really niceIdlewood is just really niceIdlewood is just really niceIdlewood is just really niceIdlewood is just really nice
Default Construction Process in Australia

Hi all,

Apologies in advance if I'm posting this in the wrong place I'm just not sure quite under which category you'd place it.

I am an architect moving to Perth this August with my other half (visas's etc all organised and sorted finally!!!). I'm trying to find information/books on the building process in Australia (everyhting from planning and building law through to contracts and general construction methods). Quiet a broad range I know, but so are the area's my job requires me to know about.

I've been looking on-line but so far to little avail as most of the governing authority sites require subscription fees; can anybody direct me in the direction of sites or books that cover these areas in a broad detail just so I have an idea prior to arriving in Australia of what I'm talking about?

Many thanks in advance,

Terry
Old Jan 19th 2009, 7:12 pm
Forum Regular

koolkat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Construction Process in Australia

Hi Im also an architect moving to oz in may.

Sorry that I cant be much help as i dont know much about it over there apart from what i heard is that its mostly the same as over here. They still have same contracts apart from they might be named slightly different.

Im slightly concerned about the industry over there as apparently architects have been taken off the skills in demand list.

I also was told that everything is the same apart from they use single glazing... soz cant be much more help!
Old Jan 19th 2009, 10:02 pm
Forum Regular