Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Company car culture in Australia

Company car culture in Australia

Old Jun 22nd 2004, 5:04 pm
Forum Regular

biba is on a distinguished road
Default Company car culture in Australia

I am a company car driver in the UK and have been one for the last 4 yrs as I work as a field engineer.

I would like to know if Australia has the same or similar 'company car culture' to the UK. Here, almost 60% of the new cars on the road are company cars. If I find a job in the similar line of work, am I likely to be offered a company car or am I expected to get my own?

Also, what is the tax situation with company cars? What is finacialy more beneficial - a company car or private? In the UK, for me it's cheaper to have company car than to use my own, due to high insurance cost and general ownership of the vehicle.

Any comments much appreciated!
Old Jun 22nd 2004, 5:27 pm
BE Enthusiast

pockygoes will become famous soon enough

bump - would like to know the answer to this one

pockygoes
Old Jun 22nd 2004, 11:16 pm
Karma Comedian

jayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond repute

If you get offered ajob which includes a car package you should either be able to get a motor vehicle allownace, say of $10,000 a year, or you will be able to salary sacrifice a novated lease.