British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Civil Engineering Job Market in Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/civil-engineering-job-market-australia-848835/)

ab a Dec 14th 2014 10:13 pm

Civil Engineering Job Market in Australia

Hi,

I am considering applying for 189 or 190 visa soon. I just want to get some insight into civil engineering job market in Australia at the moment. I am hearing economy is slowing and civil engineering in particular is hit hard, with less jobs in mining as well.

I am a junior civil engineer, I have about 1.5 year experience in the power industry (transmission towers) and 1 year project engineering experience. I want to know whether I could find a job in Aus after getting a visa? If there are civil or structural engineers here I would be particularly interested to hear from you. I want to compare the civil engineering job market in the UK and Australia.
Location-wise, I am flexible but I am particularly interested about Victoria and NSW. I hear there are more jobs in rail industry in Victoria but my experience is not in rail (although I would be interested in a career in rail, if you think they would recruit juniors from the UK with my sort of background).

Thanks

Bermudashorts Dec 14th 2014 10:25 pm

Re: Civil Engineering Job Market in Australia

Ask a mod to move your post to the Australia forum. There are some engineers working in Australia over there but they don't tend to read in the immigration forum (which is about visa process and what not).

verystormy Dec 14th 2014 10:39 pm

The job market can best be described like this. The last two taxi rides I took were both being driven by civil engineers.

NZ have a big demand at the moment

msmyrtle Dec 14th 2014 10:55 pm

Originally Posted by ab a (Post 11502145)
Hi,