British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Changing over international driving licence - victoria (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/changing-over-international-driving-licence-victoria-604977/)

mooo Apr 22nd 2009 11:06 pm

Changing over international driving licence - victoria

Hi all - I have been in Melbourne for nearly 3 months, I am on a permanent residency visa. I have a driving licence from a country in Africa (have had it for 16 years) and I also got an international driving permit before I left to come here. I have checked with Vic Roads and also a few driving schools and have been told different things - does anyone have any experience with this? I know that as a permanent resident I need to get a Victorian licence within three months, but have been told that I need to apply for a learner permit. However, once I have the learner permit I must hold it for three months before doing the hazard perception test and driving test and cannot drive by myself during this period ... My husband works full time so how on earth will I be able to take the kids to playgroup, do the shopping etc? Am in a semi-rural location so nothing within walking distance .. And yet if I was on a temporary visa I would be able to drive on my international licence indefinitely ... :confused:

ABCDiamond Apr 23rd 2009 12:09 am

Re: Changing over international driving licence - victoria

They do give you three months in which to sort out changing your licence to an Australian one...

A UK licence holder would not have the problem that you have, as we are exempt from needing to take tests.

The rules in Victoria, for someone that is not exempt, include:
To obtain Victorian driver licence (full or probationary) you need to make an appointment to undertake:
  • a road law knowledge test,
  • hazard perception test (HPT)
  • eyesight test and
  • a driving assessment