Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Career Change retraining part-time?!

Career Change retraining part-time?!

Old Sep 25th 2010, 11:15 pm
'Made in Ulster' Member

Location: Brisbane, QLD. (Though an Ulster girl through and through!)
Jen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond reputeJen1977ni has a reputation beyond repute
Question Career Change retraining part-time?!

Well as most of you will know, I'm a Primary School Teacher by trade and have been for ten years now. In all honesty I'd love to re-train as something else. In the UK I was also, alongside teaching, in the police part-time and would love to continue along that general route, and my ideal job would be in customs, but alas that little C word (citizenship) wouldn't allow me to do that just yet. (I wouldn't want to go into the police full-time though!)

Don't get me wrong I enjoy working with children, it's just the confines of the classroom, the amount of paperwork expected of teachers these days etc that does my head in. I just don't like how it can take over your life and how the workload generally NEVER ends. So, my lil gurus could anyone suggest anything that I could study/train for part-time whilst still teaching, in a relief capacity. I know it's a lot to ask but I'd be intrigued to see what other people have done as it might be something I'd never even remotely though about!

Thanks everyone xo
Old Sep 26th 2010, 2:01 am
BE Forum Addict