Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Can a PR visa be revoked?

Can a PR visa be revoked?

Old Dec 12th 2010, 10:28 am
Just Joined

Gaucho is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Can a PR visa be revoked?

I am new to BE, however, my first post isn't on a happy footing - I have recently been diagnosed with cancer.

This has come as a massive hammerblow and both my family and I are still shellshocked by this finding. Fortunately, I have learned that it has been caught at an early stage and the prognosis is very good.

Our dreams to emigrate have now gone down the plughole as we were planning to leave here in March/April 2011. I'm clinging onto the hope that we can still make it at some point in the future but I have to remain in the UK for at least another 12-18 months for treatment and follow ups. Luckily, I have over 3 years before my PR visa expires.

At the time my PR visa was granted I was obviously fit and healthy based on the medicals I underwent.

My question to the good folk of BE is, can a PR visa be revoked based on the fact that I will potentially be a medical burden (I will, no doubt, need following up for the rest of my life) if I do eventually make it to Oz?
Old Dec 12th 2010, 10:47 am
ABCDiamond

Default Re: Can a PR visa be revoked?

I am pretty sure that a PR visa cannot be revoked for health reasons. I think I am 100% sure.

But, with such possible costs hanging over you, it would be worth considering your options very carefully. I have been told that the UK NHS now covers all costs for cancer and such like, which may be better than you may get here.

My own experiences with the Australian Healthcare have been pretty good so far, but some people have mentioned that some costs can be very high. It isn't all covered by Medicare.

Old Dec 12th 2010, 10:52 am
Home and Happy

Location: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...