Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Old Dec 21st 2007, 10:45 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
shark bait's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Queensland
Posts: 140
shark bait has a brilliant futureshark bait has a brilliant futureshark bait has a brilliant futureshark bait has a brilliant futureshark bait has a brilliant futureshark bait has a brilliant future
Default can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

shark bait is offline  
Old Dec 21st 2007, 10:47 pm
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 95
Billy_NoMates is just really niceBilly_NoMates is just really niceBilly_NoMates is just really niceBilly_NoMates is just really niceBilly_NoMates is just really niceBilly_NoMates is just really niceBilly_NoMates is just really niceBilly_NoMates is just really niceBilly_NoMates is just really nice
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Originally Posted by shark bait View Post
As far as I'm aware it won't work unless you run it through an Aussie video. We managed to get a picture but the sound uses a different channel. Save yourself the hassle buy one over here.
Billy_NoMates is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 12:33 am
  #3  
Banned
 
Timber Floor Au's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Morayfield - The Posh Part
Posts: 10,138
Timber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Originally Posted by shark bait View Post
They work fine m8.
You need to run it thru a STB ( cost about 60 bucks ) or Foxtel.
Timber Floor Au is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 12:36 am
  #4  
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,133
Vim Fuego is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Originally Posted by shark bait View Post
Buy one here, by the time you get here 57ft Plasmas will be about $200 ... and last 3 weeks
Vim Fuego is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 12:52 am
  #5  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
quoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 8,226
quoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Buy a new one, not worth the bother of bringing stuff like that over here.
quoll is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 12:59 am
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
HeatherandTim's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: NSW
Posts: 65
HeatherandTim is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

We bought our TV's and we couldnt use them. We ended up buying new ones so I would say dont bother. Try selling the before you leave because once you bring them here they are pretty much worthless.
HeatherandTim is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 1:01 am
  #7  
Banned
 
Timber Floor Au's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Morayfield - The Posh Part
Posts: 10,138
Timber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond reputeTimber Floor Au has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Originally Posted by HeatherandTim View Post
We bought our TV's and we couldnt use them. We ended up buying new ones so I would say dont bother. Try selling the before you leave because once you bring them here they are pretty much worthless.
How so?

We bought 3 tv's and all worked absolutely fine. You have to run the signal, theu a set top box.
Timber Floor Au is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 6:32 am
  #8  
UK to Brissy - August 07
 
smoggieswilltravel's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Redland Bay, Brisbane
Posts: 290
smoggieswilltravel is just really nicesmoggieswilltravel is just really nicesmoggieswilltravel is just really nicesmoggieswilltravel is just really nicesmoggieswilltravel is just really nicesmoggieswilltravel is just really nicesmoggieswilltravel is just really nicesmoggieswilltravel is just really nice
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Hi

I'd bring it all the TV's and fridges the lot. Ours all work fine. Moving here is expensive as it is so why go selling your stuff in the uk for peanuts as you can't give stuff away nowadays and have to fork out over here for new stuff. We ran the TV's through digi boxes can buy them for $40 (alot cheaper than a new TV). If you want new stuff then wait till you have been here a while and possibly bought a house and then you know its all going to fit.

Merry Christmas
smoggieswilltravel is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 7:08 am
  #9  
Banned
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: here there,fluck knows where?
Posts: 7,444
aston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond reputeaston man has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

80 quid,40 inch panasonic plasma
aston man is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 7:52 am
  #10  
In melbourne
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 263
silver has a brilliant futuresilver has a brilliant futuresilver has a brilliant futuresilver has a brilliant futuresilver has a brilliant futuresilver has a brilliant futuresilver has a brilliant future
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

All modern uk TV's should work with a set top box if you use the video/scart connectors. Some TV's will work here but this is very dependant on the design of the TV not the price or age.
silver is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 8:08 am
  #11  
Moreland Member
 
ozzieeagle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 15,430
ozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond reputeozzieeagle has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Originally Posted by Vim Fuego View Post
Buy one here, by the time you get here 57ft Plasmas will be about $200 ... and last 3 weeks
LOL, aint that the truth.

I'm waiting for holographic TV, its on its way... what a freak out that will be..
ozzieeagle is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 9:59 am
  #12  
BE Forum Addict
 
Red_V_Roger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Peregian Springs, Sunshine Coast
Posts: 1,871
Red_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond reputeRed_V_Roger has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Our Philips works straight from the ariel connection - not with set top box. It needs to be able to do PAL-G instead of UK PAL-B. I had to tell it that we were 'elswhere in Europe' and messed about with it for a bit.

Problem is that in Sydney free to air terrestrial digital tv is broadcast on VHF - UK is UHF. So the built-in digital won't work neither will the set-top boxes we brought. We only get the rubbish standard channels.
Red_V_Roger is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 10:08 am
  #13  
Lisa
 
LisaD_uk's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Nottingham-Sydney(we're here baby)
Posts: 780
LisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to allLisaD_uk is a name known to all
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Originally Posted by shark bait View Post
You don't say what type of TV you have, if its a new expensive one then bring it. We have got a big new LCD flat screen which we bought when we arrived to put in our lounge but we still shipped our TV from UK, our phillips wide screenfrom the uk just plugged it in and it picked up all the australian channels as its multi regional. We also have several small ones (kids) and we can only use them to watch dvds on so we could have sold them and got new ones here. So in answer to your question it depends on the type of tv you have.
LisaD_uk is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 11:48 am
  #14  
stuck in twilight
 
pike's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: scoucer in Brisbane and now back in Liverpool
Posts: 301
pike is on a distinguished road
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

I took my tv a philips it worked better than the one I purchased in OZ with out connecting it through a video or dvd
pike is offline  
Old Dec 22nd 2007, 4:16 pm
  #15  
BE Enthusiast
 
Shoan and Rich's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Ellenbrook, Perth
Posts: 316
Shoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to allShoan and Rich is a name known to all
Default Re: can i bring the tv ? or should i buy one in oz?

Originally Posted by ozzieeagle View Post
LOL, aint that the truth.

I'm waiting for holographic TV, its on its way... what a freak out that will be..

Check this out, saw it on TV and was gobbed smacked !


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRViE4N-u5Y
Shoan and Rich is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.