Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Buying a House in Oz/ Exchange rate

Buying a House in Oz/ Exchange rate

Old Mar 5th 2011, 8:27 am
Just Joined

matt75 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Buying a House in Oz/ Exchange rate

Hi all, I am new to BE and am would appreciate any advice.
I have been living in Oz for 5 years now but recently moved from Sydney to Brisbane. Am now thinkin of Buying a house here in Brissy and was wondering what people thought of the timing of it all.
i.e Current Aus house prices vs Current exchange rate.
At the moment, the Aussie dollar it at a high, meaning its never been so bad to bring pound notes over here. I am in limbo as to what to do. Does anyone have any ideas/theories regarding what the exchange rate will do? I mean, Do I sell my property in the uk and buy here now or wait and hope the Pound improves so I get more dollars for my pound. If i do that, will i gain anything because the current trend is for house prices here are rising.
Any thought would be appreciated.

Thanks
Old Mar 5th 2011, 10:26 am
BE Forum Addict

roaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond reputeroaringmouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying a House in Oz/ Exchange rate

Originally Posted by matt75
Does anyone have any ideas/theories regarding what the exchange rate will do?
Fluctuate.
Old Mar 7th 2011, 1:05 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace