Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

is bullshit part of aussie culture?

is bullshit part of aussie culture?

Old Sep 27th 2007, 4:34 am
BE Forum Addict

bridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond reputebridie has a reputation beyond repute
Default is bullshit part of aussie culture?

OH is a metal machinist by trade (which is how we got our visa 2 yrs ago) but also did C&G electrical qualification before we left. he got a job as soon as we arrived with an engineering firm which he left this time last year to start as an apprentice with a local electrical firm - a few months later we were told the only way he could get his licence was sign up and get crap pay for four years and attend TAFE despite having the qualification... as we were expecting our first child in June he had to leave as there was no way we could live off $13 an hour for the next four years.

so he got a job with a nationwide auto spare parts company, the job advertised was "storeperson" but when he went for the interview the bloke told him that he would quickly move into the sales side where "there is big money to be made" and there were all sorts of opportunities for someone with his qualifications, expereince and work ethic. so he started there in march on $17 an hour.

after our child was born he asked about moving on and was told it would all happen in a few months. then, nearly two months ago, he had an appraisal and was told his money would go up $3 an hour.