Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Bricklaying - uk to australia ? Advice please.

Bricklaying - uk to australia ? Advice please.

Old Oct 21st 2010, 5:05 pm
Just Joined

Littlemissdonx is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Bricklaying - uk to australia ? Advice please.

Hi, I am new to this so hope i am going about writing this in the right way and in the right place?! Any help on this would be much apprciated, so thanks in advance-

Me and my boyfriend are going over to Australia on a working holiday visa. We will be staying in Perth. My boyfriend is a bricklayer with a city and guilds qualification and lots of experience. He wants to work as a bricklayer while we are there. Has anyone else done this?

The main question I have is that is his uk qualifiation recognised over there or will he need to do any tests to prove his skills before he can work? I find it all quite confusing and cant find a definate answer to this?! I know he will need an ABN and a Blue/white card for health and safety, does he just need his uk qualification to apply for this? Or is it a longer process than that?

Any insight would be greatly apprciated, thanks very much.
Old Oct 22nd 2010, 3:43 am
Just Joined

Nickolov is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Bricklaying - uk to australia ? Advice please.

If he is to be self employed he will have to get a license, in Queensland it is with the BSA.not sure about Perth
To get the licence you have to show Qualifications and have them recognized, do a management course and have a financial statement to contract with the public,all very expensive and long winded

If you are only on a working holiday it would probably work out better to get a job with a Building company and work under there license.
Landscape companies also are a good source of employment and will employ direct

You will have to get a white/blue safety card to work on any site and provide PPE

Good luck