British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Bonus points for language. (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/bonus-points-language-112190/)

Elsie Oct 3rd 2002 6:02 am

Bonus points for language.

Please can some one help; I'm getting more and more worried about whether my PR will now be rejected!

The story is that I applied for skilled independent claiming 5 bonus points for MODL. Now that the MODL list has changed I expect that I will be loosing those bonus points.

I am originally from Denmark and speak Danish fluently, so my question is: how do you qualify to get the bonus points for a foreign language?

Though I was born and brought up in Denmark and have A-level education, I don't have a Danish degree as I studied abroad, and I'm obviously not a professional translator.

I know it says in the guideline that you need to have a degree in the community language, but surely being from that country and being 100% fluent in the relevant language is enough??

Many thanks in advance,

Elsie.

ptlabs Oct 3rd 2002 6:27 am

Re: Bonus points for language.

Originally posted by Elsie:
I am originally from Denmark and speak Danish fluently, so my question is: how do you qualify to get the bonus points for a foreign language?

Though I was born and brought up in Denmark and have A-level education, I don't have a Danish degree as I studied abroad, and I'm obviously not a professional translator.

I know it says in the guideline that you need to have a degree in the community language, but surely being from that country and being 100% fluent in the relevant language is enough??

Unfortunately, being a native from a country that speaks the community language alone is insufficient. If that were the case, almost every migrant will be entitled to the 5 bonus points, won't they?