Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Better Quality of Life - A Pipedream?

Better Quality of Life - A Pipedream?

Old Feb 27th 2005, 9:26 pm
Forum Regular

pusky123 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Better Quality of Life - A Pipedream?

Dear All,

One of the main reasons for myself and my wife wishing to emigrate was the hope of being able to purchase a house (with a mortgage), and start a family.

In the UK house prices have got so ridiculous that even though I pay 40% tax we cant afford to buy a house in greater london, or pretty much the south east. (We can just about afford a flat).

However, from watching A Place in the Sun last week (Sydney) house prices down under seem pretty pricey too.

So, given that we dont have huge savings or equity to cash in, is our quest for a better quality of life in Oz just a pipedream? (I'm an accountant by the way).

Thanks for your thoughts.
Old Feb 27th 2005, 9:46 pm

ShozInOz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Better Quality of Life - A Pipedream?

Originally Posted by pusky123
Dear All,

One of the main reasons for myself and my wife wishing to emigrate was the hope of being able to purchase a house (with a mortgage), and start a family.

In the UK house prices have got so ridiculous that even though I pay 40% tax we cant afford to buy a house in greater london, or pretty much the south east. (We can just about afford a flat).

However, from watching A Place in the Sun last week (Sydney) house prices down under seem pretty pricey too.

So, given that we dont have huge savings or equity to cash in, is our quest for a better quality of life in Oz just a pipedream? (I'm an accountant by the way).

If you are considering Sydney, then you would be little or no better off, or maybe worse off. Sydney is divided into City, Eastern suburbs, South, North, Inner West, and West.