British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Bare Feet !!! (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/bare-feet-305627/)

jwinch May 28th 2005 11:23 am

Bare Feet !!!

In the six months we have been here I have yet to wear a proper pair of shoes, somehow it just doesn't seem right.

Well I got my comeuppance today. Everyone was out so I thought i would be a good housewife and clean the floor (Unfortunately I am not very good at either)

Bucket in one hand mop in the other I walked out of the laundry trying to negotiate both the fly screen door and the back door with my elbows. Managed to flick the fly screen door open and just as it was about to swing back in my face i stuck my foot out to catch it. Unfortunately my toes caught the edge of the door frame. :eek:

Once i finally manged to stop howling i look down to find my little toe on my left foot sticking out at a right angle to the rest of my foot. Then I was promptly sick !

Fortunately Hubby and kids came in shortly after. However sympathy was extremely lacking. All I got told was no point going to the docs they will only strap it up. He then got out some white ptfe Plumbing tape from the back of his van and tapped my toes together.

I am now nursing an extremely swollen and black foot - I must dig out that box of shoes we brought with us !

hilary6 May 28th 2005 11:27 am

Re: Bare Feet !!!

Originally Posted by jwinch
In the six months we have been here I have yet to wear a proper pair of shoes, somehow it just doesn't seem right.

Well I got my comeuppance today. Everyone was out so I thought i would be a good housewife and clean the floor (Unfortunately I am not very good at either)