Reload this Page >

Aus. cost of living

Wikiposts

Aus. cost of living

Old Sep 3rd 2003, 2:43 am
Forum Regular

zander is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Aus. cost of living

I'm sure this question has been asked before, but I'm new to this so indulge me a little.

How much is enough (self, wife, 11 year old child) when contemplating a move to Australia?

I've read about people emmigrating with enough cash to buy a house outright and be left with no mortgage. Is that the normal position? I've got nowhere near enough for that but could manage a fairly substantial deposit. We intend to rent until we get work.

I hope to have around $80,000 which is a hell of a lot of money to me. I know that this will satisfy the immigration authorities, but what standard of living would that allow us if we can't get employment immediately. By that I mean how much do people need to live adequately (decent place to live, expenses, transport and enough for a little leisure) rather than luxuriously (subjective, I know).

The DIMIA information says a family of three can expect to spend around $950 a week. Is that realistic? In the worst case scenario we would come back home if employment wasn't forthcoming in the first 6 months (with something left in reserve,hopefully).

Not fussed about what jobs we do initially, but some comments I've read here indicate that the majority of Australians are scratching a living and putting in more hours than there are in a day, workwise. Is this true?

Some doubts creeping in now

Grateful for any views.

Ta

Alex
Old Sep 3rd 2003, 2:53 am
Gone Senile Member