British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Another worried ACS applicant... (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/another-worried-acs-applicant-108740/)

chrisbridge Jun 6th 2002 3:13 pm

Another worried ACS applicant...

Hi all
I’m writing in the hope of getting some advice/opinions on my chances of passing the RPL assessment.

I have a little over 2 years commercial experience at a blue chip set up working on small (mainly) dot.com type projects in the following areas:
- Web site development (HTML, Javascript, CSS, Servlets/JSPs)
- E-commerce (HTTP Server, Websphere App Server, Websphere Commerce Suite, DB2)
- Interactive TV (Transcoding Publisher, XML, XSL)
- Enterprise application development (J2EE + EJBs)
Whilst a lot of these skills feature on the MODL list – which is great - my concern is that my experience falls too far short of the recommended 4 year minimum for employer references and won’t get me through the RPL assessment. Additionally I can only probably lay claim to 5 or 6 of the CBOK areas of knowledge (if I’m being generous to myself here and there).

One alternative to this is to make my visa application as a physicist (for my sins I did a PhD in semiconductor physics) rather than as an IT professional. The skills assessment for physicists comprises of little more than verifying my qualifications. Dead easy, but what worries me a little here is that, based on the SOL point scores, physics is not in as much demand as IT. I should point out though that I’m planning to go for a ‘designated area sponsored’ visa so I would actually be exempt from the points test…

What I’d like to ask is:

Despite my relative inexperience would it be worthwhile me putting in an application for RPL?