British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Advice required: we are moving to Sydney (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/advice-required-we-moving-sydney-325311/)

smallbeagle Sep 10th 2005 7:03 pm

Advice required: we are moving to Sydney

Hi all,

I am a newbie here. Hubby just dropped a bombshell...we will be moving to Sydney soon. Work will be taking him to Chatswood. I am excited but also abit nervous. We have 2 children, 4.5 and 2.

He's shown me a map of Sydney. It looks like north shore will be our best bet. I have afew questions which hopefully will get us planning for our move.

1. How long does it take to apply for visa? He needs to be there early November
2. Are family clubs readily available there ? (for tennis, swimming, gym, fitness classes and dancing for adults and children) ? If so where are they on the north shore?
3. Schools: Any good schools in the area? Read somewhere we need to pay $4.5k if on temp visa. Ochh!
4. Nursery: Are they plenty? Probably secondary to question 3.
5. Do most schools have swimming? Guess we don't need swimming tuition for the kids then.
6. We would be renting first. Who should we use? The local newspaper?
7. Do they have holiday lets ? We could probably stay in one of those before looking to rent.
8. Properties to buy: Surfed the net for properties on the shore. They are huge and EXPENSIVE. In your opinion, which suburb is good for kids? Lots of playgrounds, friendly, easy to commute to Chatswood, have large land area?

Oh my god,,the list is getting quite long. Let me stop here and your replies are most appreciated!

Carkedit Sep 10th 2005 7:44 pm

Re: Advice required: we are moving to Sydney

Originally Posted by smallbeagle
Hi all,