Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Advice needed on a 47SP Visa

Advice needed on a 47SP Visa

Old Jan 1st 2005, 2:22 am
jumamoja

jumamoja is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs down Advice needed on a 47SP Visa

I married a Ukrainian in the UK on December 8th and had to return to Melbourne on the 22nd. I have just spent worst Xmas and New Year of my life

Our marriage is totally genuine: we have spent three years making absolutely sure; and I have spent almost a year in the Ukraine getting to know my wife and her culture.

I am an Australian resident with dual UK/Australian citizenship.

I want to bring my wife to Australia under a 47SP visa. I am :scared: to say the least.

We have filled out the 47SP visa form but have been reluctant to lodge it until we were 100% sure of our relationship and because we knew we had to get it absolutely right.

The application seems to be far from straight forward. I have a feeling the Sponsorship and Centrelink assurance of support is going to be a problem because I am 60 years old, my primary income is derived from Disabled British War Pension and, although I have enough money in the bank to buy a small house in a low cost area, I want my wife to choose where she wishes to live in Australia. I don’t want her to be lost and lonely, because I remember what it was like to be a migrant.

I have sounded out a few immigration agents they appear to be schonky, expensive, and a waste of money that we simply cannot afford.

I know the 47SP visa can take a long time to process and I don't know how I can wait that long to be together with her.

Is there a Good Samaritan who can offer me advice on how to proceed and give me some encouragement? It would be great if the Good Samaritan lived in the Melbourne area.

Jumamoja
Old Jan 1st 2005, 3:19 am