Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

ACS Membership required?

ACS Membership required?

Old Jun 5th 2002, 11:44 am
  #1  
gle
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 38
gle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ACS Membership required?

I am about to have my skills assessed by the ACS. I have an IT degree (UK). Is it obligatory to be belong to either the ACS or BCS for the ACS to give the nod.
gle is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2002, 11:59 am
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
MrFlibbleUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Brissie
Posts: 689
MrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the roughMrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the roughMrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the roughMrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the roughMrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: ACS Membership required?

Nope makes no difference
MrFlibbleUK is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2002, 12:23 pm
  #3  
Ex Mod (2002-2005)
 
ptlabs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 5,464
ptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ACS Membership required?

While it is not obligatory to belong to any computer society, having professional (ordinary) membership of either the Aussie or British Computer Society will let you in via Group A without any further ado.

cheers,
peter
ptlabs is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2002, 12:29 pm
  #4  
gle
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 38
gle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: ACS Membership required?

Yes, that group a thing, thats why I asked the question, it was a little unclear to me exactly what is requires

I intend to provide by degree cert and subjects and scores etc. If I am not a member of BCS or ACS will I still be classes as a group A?
gle is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2002, 12:44 pm
  #5  
Ex Mod (2002-2005)
 
ptlabs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 5,464
ptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ACS Membership required?

If you read the ACS Guidelines closely (it's rather summarily written if you asked me!) it says that if you already have an IT degree, which is recognized as an equivalent of an Aussie IT degree, you would be classified as Group A. Membership is not compulsory, in this sense.

If you're not already aware, being a member of A/BCS will bring the cost of the skills assessment down to AUD$100 from AUD$350. Of course, you would have to pay the entrance/annual fee to A/BCS...

Hope this helps (again).

Cheers,
Peter
ptlabs is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.