British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   ACS - MCSE and RPL questions (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/acs-mcse-rpl-questions-106878/)

marc_t Mar 6th 2002 11:15 pm

ACS - MCSE and RPL questions

Hi

I have been going through the ACS site and this forum, but am unclear about a few things.

1. Is an MCSE qualification equivalent to an Australian AQF Diploma? Some people say it is and some say it is not. I have an MCSE and 5 years of experience in IT and want to know if I need to complete the RPL or if the MCSE meets the assessment requirements without the RPL.

2. How detailed do the references need to be? Two of the companies I have worked for have closed down and all I have is a simple 'he worked here from x until y doing z'. How will this influence my application?

Thanks

Marc

George Lombard Mar 7th 2002 10:05 am

Re: ACS - MCSE and RPL questions

Hi Marc,

The basic answer to your first question is yes, the full MCSE is equivalent to an
Australian Qualifications Framework diploma in IT for ACS, which assesses you in its
Group B, meaning you also need four years work experience in IT.

The second question is impossible to answer, because it depends on the skills you
have and the work you were doing. For example, work as a "trainee" is next to
useless for ACS.

Cheers

George Lombard

marc_t wrote in message <[email protected]>...
    >Hi
    >
    >I have been going through the ACS site and this forum, but am unclear about a
    >few things.
    >
    >1. Is an MCSE qualification equivalent to an Australian AQF Diploma? Some people say
    > it is and some say it is not. I have an MCSE and 5 years of experience in IT and
    > want to know if I need to complete the RPL or if the MCSE meets the assessment
    > requirements without the RPL.
    >
    >2. How detailed do the references need to be? Two of the companies I have worked for