British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   ACS Assessment - Whether I'll qualify (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/acs-assessment-whether-ill-qualify-108688/)

hsvirk Jun 3rd 2002 4:56 pm

ACS Assessment - Whether I'll qualify

Hi there,

I have more than 4 years of experience as an analyst programmer and have completed a couple of government recognised diplomas with the following contents -

Business Systems
Systems Analysis and Design
Data Structures through C Language
Object Oriented Programming through C++
Computer Graphics
Data Communications and Networking
Database Management Systems
Programming through C
Personal Computer Software
Computer Organization and System Software
Problem Solving through COBOL

Other than this I have an MCSD and BrainBench certification.

What would be my chances to be positively assessed by ACS

Would it be beneficial if I attached a detailed syllabus of the above courses that I studied

Thanks
Tony

Lana Jun 3rd 2002 7:18 pm

Re: ACS Assessment - Whether I'll qualify

I think with all the courses and the 4 years experience and the MCSD, you'll very likely get a positive assessment. I am not an expert, but assuming that the references you get are good and that your RPL form is clearly filled, I see no problem.

hsvirk Jun 4th 2002 1:04 am

Do I need to fill in the RPL form and if so do I pay $400 for RPL other than the $350 for the application form ?

Lana Jun 4th 2002 8:38 pm

Yeah, you fill the RPL form, pay the $400, and provide reference letters and certificates and details of all the courses you took.

The $350 is for people who are getting a university degree assessed, other than experience and certificates.

ptlabs Jun 5th 2002 8:12 am

Originally posted by hsvirk
I have more than 4 years of experience as an analyst programmer and have completed a couple of government recognised diplomas with the following contents -