Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

4 gods sake,3 months,2 dogs,1 bloke clueless, 0 Planning

4 gods sake,3 months,2 dogs,1 bloke clueless, 0 Planning

Old Aug 9th 2008, 3:54 pm
Just Joined

sarkyd is an unknown quantity at this point
Question 4 gods sake,3 months,2 dogs,1 bloke clueless, 0 Planning

over the past few years my oh has expressed a desire to live in many corners of the world, germany,france,new zealand, italy to keep her happy ive always said yes honey look into it and we'll see where it goes.At one point she was quite adamant that italy was the place to be, so in my spare time i started learning italiano only for her to change her mind a few months later. This was to become a trend until now.
Earlier this year the love of my life mentioned moving to oz i gave the usual "yeh honey sounds great, look into it ive heard good things"expecting that to be the last i heard of it ! wrong!! so very wrong!!!! Apparently working away like a busy little bee in the background keeping me informed at every turn "of course i'm listening babe,its a rubbish match anyway"my better half has not only got herself a job and visa sorted but has a start date three months from now.
Now dont get me wrong, the idea of spending a few years in oz sounds better than fantastic, but i do not have a clue what to expect.
Anybody with any relevant info they would like to pass my way ?
You might think my approach to immigration irresponsible and to a point your right, but this is the situation expecting to stay for two years and then take a view on returning to uk, if you can help with any of the following questions please please do ;
I have a house here in the uk (should rent it out or put in the hands of a property mgt company to rent on my behalf)
Regards housing in oz(sidney area) guess its best to rent, but are there properties to renovate, what state is the housing market over there in?