FOREIGN DRIVING LICENSE RECOGNITION

Section 28 of the Road Transport Act (APJ) 1987, states that "a driving license issued under the corresponding provisions of any law in force in any State which is a party to a treaty to which Malaysia is also a party and purporting to recognize domestic driving licenses issued by the contracting countries shall, so long as the license remains in force in that State, be deemed to be a driving license granted under this Part."

Pursuant to Section 28 of APJ 1987, as mentioned above, the holder of a foreign country's driving license can drive in this country as long as the foreign domestic driving license is still valid, and is accompanied by a translation in English or Malay (where the license is in a language other than English or Malay), which is confirmed by the embassy of the country of origin in Malaysia, or by the authority issuing the driving license concerned.

In this regard, a foreign citizen is not required to hold a Malaysian driver's license to drive in Malaysia.

In addition, foreign nationals who want to drive in this country also have the option to use an International Driving Permit (International Driving Permit-IDP) issued by the country concerned before entering Malaysia.

Driving licenses from the countries listed below are recognised and can be used for driving in Malaysia subject to regulations under the Road Transport Act 1987:

		OUNTRIES	
Afghanistan	Albania	Algeria	Argentina
Austria	Bahamas	Bahrain	Bangladesh
Barbados	Belarus	Benin	Bolivia
Bosnia Herzegovina	Botswana	Brazil	Bulgaria
Burkina Faso	Burundi	Cameroon	Canada
Central Frican	Chad	Chile	Colombia
Congo	Costa Rica	Cote D'Ivore	Croatia
Czechoslovakia	D. Kampuchea	Dahomey	Dominican Republic
Ecuador	El Salvador	Estonia	Ethiopia
French Polynesia	Gabon	Gambia	Georgia
Ghana	Greece	Guatemala	Guinea
Guyana	Haiti	Holy See	Honduras
Hungary	Iceland	India	Indonesia
Ireland	Israel	Cote D'Ivoire	Jamaica
Jordan	Cambodia	Kenya	Kuwait
Latvia	Lebanon	Lesotho	Liberia
Liechtenstein	Lithuania	Luxembourg	Madagascar

LIST of COUNTRIES

LIST of COUNTRIES

Malawi	Maldive Island	Mauritania	Mexico
Monaco	Mongolia	Morocco	Namibia
Nepal	Nicaragua	Niger	Norway
Pakistan	Panama	Paraguay	Peru
Republic of Macedonia	Republic of Moldovaa	Romania	Rwanda
San Marino	Saudi Arabia	Senegal	Seychelles
Sierre Leone	Slovakia	Slovenia	Somalia
South Africa	Southern Yemen	Sri Lanka	Sudan
Swaziland	Sweden	Syria	Taiwan
Togo	Trinidad and Tobago	Tunisia	Turmenikistan
Uganda	Ukranian Soviet Socialist (Ukraine)	United Kingdom	United States of America
Uruguay	Uzbekistan	Venezuela	Vietnam
Western Samoa	Yemen	Yugoslavia	Zaire
	Zambia	Zimbabwe	
Australia	Perancis	Laos	Filipina
Belgium	Jerman	Libya	Poland
Brunei	Hong Kong	Mauritius	Russia
China	Iran	Myanmar	Sepanyol
Denmark	Iraq	Belanda	Switzerland
Mesir	Itali	New Zealand	Thailand
Fiji	Jepun	Nigeria	Turkmenistan
Finland	Korea	Papua New Guinea	Singapura