Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

US- Canada Accounting acceptance

US- Canada Accounting acceptance

Old Nov 7th 2007, 3:50 pm
Just Joined

destcan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default US- Canada Accounting acceptance

Hello all,

I am in the process of moving to Canada. I have a B.S in Accounting and an MBA both from US and have been working in US as an staff accountant for the last couple of years. Since I always wanted an accounting designation I started studying for CMA.

I came across some forums( not this one) which says that US-CMA is not accepted in Canada. Now I am really confused because i dont want to do something which will not be beneficial when I go to Canada.

1. Is there any truth to this?

2. I dont know a way to do Canadian CMA, CGA or CA while in US
Does anybody know if I can do these while in US?

3. Would it be better if I do CPA instead of CMA? would that help me in Canada?

Advice is really appreciated.
Old Nov 11th 2007, 5:18 pm
Binned by Muderators

JonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond reputeJonboyE has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US- Canada Accounting acceptance

Canadian professional bodies guard their rights to grant designations very jealously. They don't recognize foreign designations. Some employers might, but most don't.

I would guess there is some sort of mutual recognition between CPA and CA in Canada, subject to a few conversion courses. You need to check with them. I also think there is likely to be some way of converting a US CMA to a Canadian one. Again, you need to check with them.