Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

Improving this ecommerce budget model

Improving this ecommerce budget model

Old May 28th 2012, 4:03 pm
Just Joined

mikkelb is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Improving this ecommerce budget model

Greetings!

Can someone help me improve this ecommerce budget model (apparel)?

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...EtwX0NrQk9pR2c

- Not too confident about the budget model as a whole, as some parts are translated from Norwegian (this old sample budget model from the state-owned Innovation Norway - see links in the above spreadsheet), while other parts are made up (by yours truly - and I suck at this stuff).

- Anything I ought to add, remove or restructure?

- As for the Purchases and Sales sheets - could it be structured any better? I feel they ought to be more interconnected and that I've failed to model that somehow.

- The same goes for the Profit and Cash flow sheets - I always hear people talk about profit and cash flow in the same sentence.

- And for the Cash flow sheet - I was told I should model various scenarios in it (i.e. different marketing/sales costs, and different delays). But how'd I go about actually modelling that? So far all I can think of is that I probably need some form elements, maybe a select box?

- Assuming I have the sales data for a year from one of my competitors (amount of sales for their various products, where the customers came from and at what time they made the purchase) - any advice how to factor this information into my Purchases and Sales sheets to do some nice forecasting? (finding the right multiplier, seasonal variation and all that good stuff)

- I've been told that I need to model time lags (since CC payments and restocking inventory aren't immediate) into my budget model - but exactly how do I do that?

- What's the best way of modelling seasonal variations?