Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

ACA to CPA(US) - advice needed.

ACA to CPA(US) - advice needed.

Old Dec 28th 2008, 7:53 pm
Just Joined

cheryl7 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ACA to CPA(US) - advice needed.

Hello all,

I have been scouring the internet and have not been able to find an answer to my questions - so thought I would give this forum a chance.

I am a US citizen. I obtained a bachelor's degree in the USA (in literature) in 2003 before moving to the UK where I now work in audit for a Big 4 firm and will be a fully qualified ACA in September. My husband and I now want to move back to the USA next year, but from what I have found in my research this is not as straightforward as I thought as most states seem to require certain accounting education credits, which I do not have as I did not study accounting at College.

My questions are:

1) Is it possible that my ACA qualification can satisfy the specific accounting education requirements? I already have a bachelor's degree from a top level university in the US, just not in accounting .

2)If the answer above is no, what would the quickest route towards obtaining a CPA? I am willing to study a bit more, but obviously would like to utilise my ACA qualification if possible.

3)Do I even need a CPA to get a good job in accounting in the USA? Or would my ACA be sufficient? Ideally I would like to work in industry as a financial accountant / finance manager, etc.

Any advice, tips or general insight would be GREATLY appreciated.

Kindest regards,

Cheryl
Old Dec 28th 2008, 9:29 pm
Just Joined

email1405 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: ACA to CPA(US) - advice needed.

Hi,
1) Is it possible that my ACA qualification can satisfy the specific accounting education requirements? I already have a bachelor's degree from a top level university in the US, just not in accounting