British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Working Abroad by Profession (https://britishexpats.com/forum/working-abroad-profession-73/)
-   -   Move back or stay for one more year? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/working-abroad-profession-73/move-back-stay-one-more-year-896483/)

TillyUK May 8th 2017 1:25 pm

Move back or stay for one more year?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in the forum but I think you have answers to most of the things based of your experiences (personal and professional), and I'd appreciate your thoughts.

I'm originally from Cyprus, living in the UK for almost 9 years (studies and work) and I'm 26 years old. Recently I have started thinking to relocate back home (weather is not really by best friend to help on my decisions). However I had a good problem that came up. Whilst looking for jobs in Cyprus, a big multinational company has offered me a job of 6 months to start asap there. On the very same day I had been offered though a permanent position in the UK within the Higher Education. Both well paid opportunities, so salary is not a factor to my decision. What I'm thinking is that, if I don't take the job here I will go to Cyprus but that will be a permanent decision and I won't come back. On the other side, if I do take this exciting opportunity even if it doesn't work my country will always be there for me to go back. Also CV wise, being on a 6 month contract and doing short terms in employment doesn't look good to an employer as far as I know.

I'd appreciate any advice...

(Confused as never before)

DigitalGhost May 9th 2017 10:35 am

Re: Move back or stay for one more year?

Originally Posted by TillyUK (Post 12247677)
Also CV wise, being on a 6 month contract and doing short terms in employment doesn't look good to an employer as far as I know.

That depends on the line of work that you're in. In some cases it doesn't matter and is exactly what a would-be employer would expect to see.

GeniB May 21st 2017 8:03 am