Go Back  British Expats > Introduction > The Welcome Inn
Reload this Page >

Returning to UK after 43 years

Returning to UK after 43 years

Old May 12th 2013, 10:59 am
Just Joined

Leafykaren is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Returning to UK after 43 years

Hi. My name is Karen and I am thinking of moving to the UK in the next year. I was born there but my parents moved to South Africa when I was a year old. So, although I am technically an expat, I have no personal memory or knowledge of life in the UK (besides a few holidays), so consider myself a foreigner lucky enough to also be a British citizen! Given that I am currently getting divorced, I thought I would see this as an opportunity for a life change - I have two young sons (aged 9 and 11), and I would love for them to experience their British heritage and I could do with an adventure of my own. Their father is happy for them to move to the UK. I hope to find a decent job (I am a qualified librarian and currently working as a senior manager in a public library) but am very willing to downgrade and increase the time I can spend with my children and throw in some travel. I hope that this forum can assist in advising on what I should know and do before moving, even which are nice family places to move to (not London!), and especially assist with understanding the multitude of forms, procedures and taxes, etc. I will encounter.
Old May 12th 2013, 7:59 pm

Lion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Returning to UK after 43 years