Go Back  British Expats > Introduction > The Welcome Inn
Reload this Page >

Hello - Looking for info on Australia

Hello - Looking for info on Australia

Old Aug 12th 2011, 7:43 pm
Just Joined

Crookiem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Hello - Looking for info on Australia

Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum and just want to say hi, my name is Matt, I'm trying to get some more info on weather I would get a visa to Australia as I would like to emigrate with my family to your wonderful country.
I'm a carpenter but have no written qualification, I started working for my brother who owned his own joinery firm here in England, I continued to work for him and worked through a old school apprenticeship, working alongside a number of different members of staff and gain a whole array of knowledge in the 7 years I worked there, I have worked in all the areas of the carpentry trade and finally settled into my final role as head kitchen fitter, unfortunately the company went bust and I have no qualifications or references other than a letter I could get my brother to write. I went alone and become a self employed carpenter, kitchen fitter, running my own property renovation and refurbishment company for the last 9 years, it has been a successful company and I have sailed through the rough and the smooth, I have a good client base and good portfolio of work.
My concerns are weather I would be granted a visa and be able to work in Australia?
Where would be best to gain a job in a company doing similar work as I do right now, I'm thinking Perth?
Sorry to go on a bit, hope someone out there maybe able to help.
Thanks
Matt
Old Aug 12th 2011, 9:49 pm
SUPER MODERATOR