British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Welcome Inn (https://britishexpats.com/forum/welcome-inn-145/)
-   -   American with Half-Brit Toddler (https://britishexpats.com/forum/welcome-inn-145/american-half-brit-toddler-730909/)

kelleySnelly Sep 2nd 2011 6:28 pm

American with Half-Brit Toddler

Hello! I am new to this so be patient with me :D
I am 25, with a two year old daughter. My Fiance is currently awaiting deportation back to England and is pretty much being forced back to a country he left when he was only 9 years old! But ANYway, I am exploring my options, not sure what to do.
Im definately going to be getting us passports asap, and was wondering if anyone could give me some helpful advice?
Im not sure of HIS legal right to marry while still in ICE custody, but it had crossed my mind to get married BEFORE he was shipped off. I also considered coming to the UK on a student VISA since I know the welfare laws would prevent us from getting married until he could completely support us once he got there.
Im excited to be moving to a foreign country! but its so scarey too! especially with my little girl!
Thanks for reading! hit me back!:thumbsup:

Jerseygirl Sep 2nd 2011 6:48 pm

Re: American with Half-Brit Toddler

Originally Posted by kelleySnelly (Post 9596895)
I am 25, with a two year old daughter. My Fiance is currently awaiting deportation back to England and is pretty much being forced back to a country he left when he was only 9 years old! But ANYway, I am exploring my options, not sure what to do.
Im definately going to be getting us passports asap, and was wondering if anyone could give me some helpful advice?
Im not sure of HIS legal right to marry while still in ICE custody, but it had crossed my mind to get married BEFORE he was shipped off. I also considered coming to the UK on a student VISA since I know the welfare laws would prevent us from getting married until he could completely support us once he got there.