Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Self Employment Questions (with CR1 Visa)

Self Employment Questions (with CR1 Visa)

Old Sep 19th 2016, 11:03 am
Just Joined

VeronikaG is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Self Employment Questions (with CR1 Visa)

Hello everyone,

I am a self employed fashion designer and have been running my own business for the past 2 years in the UK. My husband and I have decided to move to Los Angeles , California next year. He is an US citizen, I am applying for a CR1 Visa. If all goes well we should be ready to make the big move in May 2017.

Ideally I would like to continue being self employed in CA, as here in the UK my business has been doing great and I'm earning considerably more than what I would earn in a full time employment. I really hope that would be the case in the US too.. If not then I will have to look for a full time job.

However I would need to start again once we move, in terms of clients and registering /running the company. Is anyone of you here working as a self employed / contractor in the US? Where do I start from in terms of registering with government and is there anything specific I need to know or do to be able to run my business over there?

Any advise on the matter or any experiences would be very helpful!

Thanks
VeronikaG
Old Sep 19th 2016, 12:00 pm
Account Closed

ian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond repute
Default re: Self Employment Questions (with CR1 Visa)

Originally Posted by VeronikaG
Any advise on the matter or any experiences would be very helpful!