Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Recruitment agencies

Recruitment agencies

Old May 28th 2009, 4:24 pm
Just Joined

dave_the_leg is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Recruitment agencies

My wife and I would like to relocate to the US. She's an American citizen, so getting an IR-1 visa etc should be just a matter of going through the process. She's a stay at home mom looking after our two girls (4 months and 2 years) and we want to keep it that way, so I need to find a job, preferably before we move.

My background is a BSc in Applied Physics, PhD in Electronics and registered as a Chartered Engineer (CPE equivalent) with 15 years experience in electronic and optical design for precision instruments.

Could anyone recommend a good recruitment agency what might be relevant. I am considering posting my resume on sites like Monster, but they seem a bit like a sledge hammer to crack a nut - you either smash the nut, or miss it completely and smash your foot!

On a related issue, if a vacancy says 5+ years experience, any idea how far above 5 they might be looking? The few I've seen quoting salary ranges seemed very high, or could I really earn $150k+?

Thanks
Old May 28th 2009, 4:38 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Bluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond reputeBluegrass Lass has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Recruitment agencies

Originally Posted by dave_the_leg