Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Question on renewing passport in the USA

Question on renewing passport in the USA

Old Aug 20th 2017, 9:35 pm
Just Joined

stubbzj12 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Question on renewing passport in the USA

Hi! My passport has expired and I need to get it renewed. I'm a resident living in the US, so I'll have to do the process through the UK government website.

After the trouble of finding a place where they offer UK sized passport photos, I finally got them and I now need to complete the online process.

It says for the requirements I need to send my passport, photos and a copy of any other passports issued by other countries. The problem is, I don't have any other passports apart from my green card. So does this mean I need to send a copy of my green card?

Secondly, will it hurt to send any additional documents (birth certificate)? Or, is that not recommended?

Lastly, how does postage work?

I appreciate your time reading this.

*Edit*
Can I track the progress? I don't mean shipping tracking.

Last edited by stubbzj12; Aug 20th 2017 at 9:38 pm. Reason: Edit
Old Aug 20th 2017, 10:27 pm
He/him

kimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Question on renewing passport in the USA

Your green card is not a passport so no.
If they dont ask, dont send it. They will probably put it in the return envelope, but there is a chance of it going astray, so I see no benefit and slight risk.