Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Exit strategy

Exit strategy

Old Sep 21st 2015, 7:59 am
Forum Regular

007fair is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Exit strategy

Moving TO Orlando - we do not want to stay forever as we have too many ties back in the UK. So we would rent a house in the US and rent our house out back in the UK.

So we need to have a plan of sorts to return to the UK. One thing that worries me would be when - in 4 years - we wanted to come home, how easy is it to get a job in the UK while living in the US ?

Anyone done that ? I work in IT
Old Sep 21st 2015, 8:40 am
Forum Regular

Colorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond reputeColorado calling has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Exit strategy

That all depends on what skills you have to offer and how the job market is faring at the time. Logistically, the biggest problem would be making yourself available for face-to-face interviews at short notice. But it's not really any different from living in Cornwall and looking for a job in the Lake District.

But I'm confused. Under what sort of conditions are going to Orlando in the first place? I thought it was a intra-company transfer. Are they sending you for a few years? Won't that mean you have a job to return to anyway? Or are they sending you permanently but you're going to quit after a few years?
Old Sep 21st 2015, 9:33 am
Forum Regular

Originally Posted by Colorado calling