Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Educational Qualifications Equivalence

Educational Qualifications Equivalence

Old Sep 26th 2016, 8:37 pm
Forum Regular

stuwoolf is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Educational Qualifications Equivalence

For starters please accept my apologies if my question has been asked many times before.

I am contemplating a move to New Jersey to live with my partner, a US citizen. Maybe for just a year or 2 before we both come back to Scotland (current circumstances mean my partner must be in NJ but she loves it here in Scotland!)

I need to know where to pitch my applications for work. I have 25 years of admin experience mainly with the UK Ministry of Defence. When I left the MOD - early severance - I went to college and completed an HNC in Admin & IT.

Now, where does my HNC sit amongst qualifications in USA? Coupled with my experience I wonder what I should be putting on my Resume and/or covering letter for job applications?

I have looked around the internet and I am led to believe that my HNC coupled with my work experience may equate to an Associate Degree in USA. I wonder what the thoughts are on this?

Grateful for any views which may help me make fewer mistakes!

Thanks.

Last edited by stuwoolf; Sep 26th 2016 at 8:40 pm.
Old Sep 26th 2016, 9:15 pm
Concierge

Rete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Educational Qualifications Equivalence

If you were to marry it would be far easier for you to come to the US to live and work, regardless of how long or short a stay you wish to have.