Reload this Page >

British OT moving to USA

British OT moving to USA

Old Oct 13th 2017, 8:56 pm
Just Joined

MRG75 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default British OT moving to USA

Hi guys

I have just completed my Masters degree and I am about to start the OTED to enable me taking the NBCOT. I have about 4 years experience as an OT in the UK. I have also started discussions with a few agencies such as MEDPRO and Conexus as they all have various benefits such as helping with accommodation, flights, visas and of course finding employment. My wife is USA born and has lived here for 17 years and my 2 children (8 and 11) both have American passports and social security cards (both classed as US citizens from near birth).

We have looked at the spousal visa route and that is too difficult believe it or not as my wife would have to go over to the USA find a job and property and it is myself who is the main bread winner.

I am looking for any other British OT's that have been through this journey or are on this road currently for any advice that could help me.

The main questions I have are:

1. What are the main differences or similarities in terms of the role of an OT in both countries?

2. Any tips on the NBCOT exam? - It seems very medical orientated from the snippet I have seen.

Hope someone may have some experience in this.

Thanks

Mark Griffiths
Old Oct 13th 2017, 9:25 pm
BE Forum Addict

tom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: British OT moving to USA