Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Question about N-400 timing and Expiring Green Card

Question about N-400 timing and Expiring Green Card

Old Feb 1st 2018, 4:29 pm
Just Joined

Saltire67 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Question about N-400 timing and Expiring Green Card

Hello everyone - I have been a permeant resident for 22 years and it is time to file for Citizenship. Which I did yesterday 1/31/18 on line.

This morning the notice I get says that estimated completion will be 4/1/2019 - YIKES that seems like a long time - but aside length of time, I am now worried because my Green Card Expires 1/31/2019.

So what do I do I have searched and all I can find is information saying that there is no need to renew Green Card when filing N-400 if you have at least 6 months left. Is that true?

Does anyone have any thoughts/advice on this for me.

I did try to search the forum - but ended up down multiple rabbit holes so thought I would post - I hope that is OK

Thanks in advance for any help
Old Feb 1st 2018, 5:27 pm
Forum Regular

sun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond reputesun_burn has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Question about N-400 timing and Expiring Green Card