N-400. Should I still apply?

Old Jan 30th 2018, 7:27 pm
Just Joined

turnip65 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default N-400. Should I still apply?

So its a very long story but I'm a permanent resident and had been since 2011. I had considered for a while to apply for citizenship but haven't yet. The problem I have is I came back to the UK (with my American wife) in June last year to deal with a family emergency and sure up the family business. At the time i was only supposed to be back for a few months but it is dragging out into 2018 so far with no end in sight although I do intend on moving back as soon as possible (hopefully within 6 months)

My question is should I apply for citizenship from the UK or have I left it too long?
When will I loose my residency? Presumably if I lose it and don't have citizenship I'll need to re-apply?
Old Jan 30th 2018, 8:07 pm

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: N-400. Should I still apply?

Abandonment of PR status is a case by case basis... there is no 1 size fits all. Do you still have ties to the USA? Home, property, etc? I don't suppose you have a job in the USA, since you've been gone 7 months?

I would return to the USA as soon as possible, even if it's a quick trip. Don't stay out over 1 year, especially if you want to file an N-400.

Details on qualifying for citizenship are at www.uscis.gov, Guide to Naturalization. Your length of continuous time outside the USA could affect your eligibility.