H-1B Visa help please.

Old Jun 9th 2017, 12:18 pm
Forum Regular

hh619 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default H-1B Visa help please.

Hi,

My name is Matt (as the username suggests )

I'm currently looking at options to move to U.S. I believe i fit the H-1B requirements albeit by the skin of my teeth. Essentially i have 12 years professional experience but no degree.

Right - I work in I.T, and I’ve been on many U.S jobsites and found countless vacancies which i fit perfectly. I've started to apply for some, but I’m not getting much feedback yet.

I've Americanised my Resume / Covering letter which should definitely help my chances!

Could someone please advise on the best way to approach possible employers? I’ve mentioned in my covering letter that I would require a sponsorship, etc.

Also, what time of year is best to apply for positions? Obviously if a position is open now, it is unlikely to stay open until the next load of H-1B petitions go through?

And finally, I can’t find accurate information about when you can actually apply for next years (2018) H-1B visas. Am I too late?

I appreciate any constructive feedback.

Matt
Old Jun 9th 2017, 12:35 pm

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: H-1B Visa help please.

The employer must start the process. The first date he can submit a petition for you is April 1, 2018....for a start date in October 2018.

Rene
Old Jun 9th 2017, 12:39 pm