Green card or ESTA

Old Jan 25th 2018, 12:55 am
Forum Regular

red_onion is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Green card or ESTA

Hello all, I've been issued with CR-1 visa and I am travelling for the first time since then. I am currently working here in the UK and looking for a suitable job in the US before finally moving over for good. Plan is to stay for a week spending time with my my wife and come back. I am a little confused as to what I am allowed and not allowed.

- Once I hand over the package at POE does it mean I am a lawful resident (GC holder)?
- Can I still return back and continue to work until I finish my contract here in the UK?

- I've heard my income earned over here will have tax implications. Would it be wise to just simply travel on ESTA? Am I even allowed to use ESTA while CR-1 visa holder?

A bit confused and I need your help please. Thank you so much as ever.
Old Jan 25th 2018, 1:18 am
Forum Regular

212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute212 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Green card or ESTA

Originally Posted by red_onion
Once I hand over the package at POE does it mean I am a lawful resident (GC holder)?
Yes

Can I still return back and continue to work until I finish my contract here in the UK?
Yes. The endorsed visa acts as a temporary permanent resident card until the real one arrives in the mail, so you will be able to re-enter the US as a LPR.

Am I even allowed to use ESTA while CR-1 visa holder?
Yes. Just make it clear that although you have an approved CR-1 immigrant visa, you do not wish to activate it at this time.
Old Jan 25th 2018, 1:43 pm
BE Forum Addict