Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Can a Power of Attorney get my I-551 Stamp?

Can a Power of Attorney get my I-551 Stamp?

Old Oct 18th 2017, 7:40 pm
Just Joined

corneydavid is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Can a Power of Attorney get my I-551 Stamp?

Short version:

Due to the nature of my work, I need to show I am a permanent resident. My already extended 'green card' expires in November, 2017. Based on the information I have my replacement card won't be with me until Feb., 2018. I need to visit my local USCIS office (Austin) and, at the very least, get an I-551 stamp in my passport. The problem for me, is I travel a lot. Taking a couple of hours off work, to pay the USCIS a visit is impossible.

Question: Is a Power of Attorney allowed to visit my 'local' USCIS office on my behalf, and get my passport stamped? I will provide this POA with all the paperwork (Passport, green card, receipts, etc.).

Longer Version:

1) I filed to renew my 'Green Card' in February 2017.
2) At my bio-metrics appointment, a stamp/sticker was placed on the back of my card extending it's validity from April to November, 2017.
3) The processing time for Form I-90 at the Potomac center is Oct. 21, 2016 (as of 18, Oct, 2017).
4) By my calculations, my replacement card won't be with me until February, 2018. A whole year to get a replacement card.
5) I work at companies that require I present proof of right to work. An expired green card will not suffice.
6) Lesson learned; file for your replacement green card as soon as you can. It looks like you will be waiting a year for the replacement.

Any help appreciated. Thanks!
Old Oct 18th 2017, 9:14 pm