Just moved to Labrador

Old Aug 13th 2014, 11:24 pm
Just Joined

TomTheVet is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Just moved to Labrador

Waking up on my second day in Labrador (amusing place name for a vet to live!) and I am well and truly cream crackered! I'm so jet lagged my body actually shakes at the moment! As a bit of an introduction here's the plan we had before we came out here:

The plan up until 3months ago:
- save up money
- get dog vaccinated and ready to go
- apply for job and get sponsored under 457 visa
- live happily ever after

3months ago - my girlfriend gets told by a recruitment company that nowhere in Australia would nominate/sponsor a Vet Nurse and that she shouldn't try to apply for jobs but as a Vet I would find sponsorship easily.

2months ago - my girlfriend gets offered a job with sponsorship, which was a bit of a surprise as it wasn't entirely in keeping with "the plan". However it was a great sounding job and well paid and gives us the all important visa which we have no guarantees of getting in a years time, so we thought "why not"... The catch? They want her to start in 4weeks! Can any of you who have already moved out there imagine trying to sort your life out to emigrate in 4weeks? It was busy! I had a car under finance that was 2years old, a sky subscription, a phone contract, luckily only a rental house with 3months left on it, a dog to sort out and so much accumulated clutter that if you check most of the contents of the Tip in Milton Keynes at least 50% will have our initials somewhere! There was also a very amusing stealthy trip at 5am around the neighbour to "share out" 16 black bin bags which ended with me accidentally leaving the garden gate open and aforementioned dog being found coiling one out in a neighbours back garden (maybe stealthy was the wrong word!).