Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

Road to ruin: Canada’s truck drivers are a dwindling resource

Old Aug 23rd 2013, 6:37 pm
Just Joined

cocker is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Road to ruin: Canada’s truck drivers are a dwindling resource

Friday
August 23, 2013
2:04 PM

By Annie Bergeron-Oliver | Apr 4, 2013 3:00 am IPOLITICS

The parking lot behind one of Ottawa’s trucking schools is packed with rows of trucks parked in perfectly parallel lines. These trucks are ready to hit the open road, but could rust while they wait: Canada is on the way to experiencing it’s worst driver shortage in history. Last month, Minister of State (Transport) Minister Steven Fletcher said the driver shortage could be a particular concern in the fast-growing Western provinces” and the economy.

If not addressed, driver shortages could become acute and a brake not just on your industry but on the wider economy,” Fletcher said in a speech to the Manitoba Trucking Association.

Ninety per cent of consumer goods are shipped by road, making the sight of empty trucks increasingly worrisome for industry professionals and owners. By the year 2020, the Conference Board of Canada estimates that the for-hire trucking industry will be short at least 25,000 drivers.

The supply gap is largely a result of an aging workforce deciding to permanently hand in their keys. Since the 1990s, the average age of truck drivers has increased by 4 years to 44. Although truckers routinely stay in the driver’s seat until age 70 or 80, mid-career drivers can hurt a company’s bottom line.

“If they are 38, they only have 30 years or something of driving years left in them,” said Vijay Gill, lead research for the Conference Board’s report. “Every 25-year-old replaces 1.5 of those older people, assuming they’ll stay in the industry.”