Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > The Trailer Park
Reload this Page >

Why do Americans think they won the War of 1812?

Why do Americans think they won the War of 1812?

Old Dec 27th 2017, 6:24 pm
He/him

kimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond repute
Default Why do Americans think they won the War of 1812?

Not all Americans of course, most dont have much of an opinion on the matter, but I have come across a few online and face to face that claim the War of 1812 was an American win! But I dont know what their reasoning was. I am still no expert, but previously I had no knowledge base to base any opinion on.

The general flow seems to be
Britons: Have never heard of it, if they have, it was just a side theater of the Napoleonic War and thus win/loss are irrelevant terms. Napoleon was defeated.
Canadians: A win, Canada stopped the American invasion of Canada.
Native Americans: A loss.
America: A win, but why?

What were Americas war goals?
Annexation of Canada (arguable): This failed.
Stop British restrictions of US sea trade with Europe: Britain backed down from this before military contact occurred.
Stop impressment: This was not mentioned in the Treat of Ghent that ended the war, the practice ended because the Napoleonic war ended.
It doesn't look like the US war goals were acheved through the war. Though the two stated goals were achieved.

What secondary goals may America have had?