Thinking of working in Thailand

Thinking of working in Thailand

Old Nov 17th 2014, 10:36 pm
cse
Just Joined

cse is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Thinking of working in Thailand

Hi all

My girlfriend and I are in the process of planing a big world trip and we were looking into working in countries to supplement our travel. I was wondering if anyone could give me some information with finding work in Thailand as it is one country we would be interested in staying for a while. I'm English and my girlfriend is Irish and we are both 31.

I was thinking more specifically teaching English (typical I know). My girlfriend has taught English in Spain and currently works for an English language company and has done so for a number of years. She is also educated to degree level.

I on the other hand have no experience in teaching (I'm a telecomms engineer) and also I don't hold a degree.

For myself I was looking into TELF/TESOL courses but there are a lot of different courses there and I am not sure which one would be suitable for me. How easy would work be to come by with this kind of qualification? I would assume that my girlfriend having teaching experience would find it easier and would probably not need to take one of these qualifications?

Also, what kind of job would I be looking at? I don't mean money wise as working is only about paying the rent and having change left over for a beer at the end of the week . I mean would it be legitimate work, cash in hand, legal, illegal?

It doesn't necessarily have to be Thailand as we are open to other countries in Asia. Sorry I am not too familiar with Asia as I've not done a lot of traveling in that part of the world. Also the post may be a bit vague. We are not planning to go for at least a year but I am just putting the feelers out now for information to be as prepared as possible

Thanks all

Chris
Old Nov 18th 2014, 8:25 pm
Forum Regular