Send money to thailand

Old Feb 7th 2016, 10:12 am
Just Joined

JohnTett is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Send money to thailand

I am new to this so please excuse this article.
I used to send money to Thailand via Post Office International Payments - supposedly fee free.
Just did a comparison today.
Transferring £6033 would give me about 301600 THB
Sending THB via my bank is not worth discussing but sending GBP via my bank is much better
Bank charges £25 and an overseas charge of £8
So if I only send £6000 (to make comparison identical) I get about 307600 THB
That is I get about £120 more using the bank.
I have Kasikorn account in Thailand.

Any one know a better way?
Old Feb 8th 2016, 5:38 pm

nonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Send money to thailand

It's not for everyone, and obviously circumstances dictate that you'd have to be traveling yourself, but.....

whenever possible I carry cash into the country myself. I think you're allowed to bring in up to $20,000 without having to make a declaration.

As soon as you arrive, leg it down to one of the Super Rich places in Pathumwan, and change it up. The best rates in Thailand, and there's a Kasinkorn right next door to then deposit.
Old Feb 9th 2016, 12:01 am
Just Joined

The bank exchange rate for telex transfers is better than the cash rate
Old Feb 9th 2016, 12:45 am