New Nurse in Thailand

Old Oct 10th 2016, 1:09 pm
Just Joined

Carmen11 is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile New Nurse in Thailand

Hello everyone, I am new here.
I am looking for some information, I am a third year Italian student nurse living in Scotland. I will be a qualified nurse at the end of this year and I would love to move in Thailand. I was planning to move in Chiang Mai however I have no idea if it will be a possible thing to work as a nurse without knowing Thai.
Anyone has any good advice? I would also consider volunteering if finding a job would be too difficult. Also, I am vegan- any one vegan here with some good advises regarding best areas to live, eat etc?

Thank you in advance, very excited to know more.

Carmen
Old Oct 10th 2016, 4:48 pm
Just Joined

taiwan_girl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: New Nurse in Thailand

Sorry to say, but I think it would be pretty tough. To work, you would need a work permit. And I am not sure that a company/hospital would go through the hassle to get you a work permit when they could hire a local nurse for (probably) less salary and ease.

The fact that you dont know Thai is also working against you. You would have to prove that you have skills above and beyond what a Thai national nurse could provide. As far as I know, there is not a nursing shortage in Thailand, so there are plenty of locals to recruit from.

Regarding vegan - I cannot offer much on that, but there are a lot of vegetarians in Thailand. It is very easy to live a vegetarian lifestyle, but I am not familiar with exactly what is vegan.

Good luck!!
Old Oct 10th 2016, 6:22 pm
Just Joined

Carmen11 is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by taiwan_girl
Sorry to say, but I think it would be pretty tough. To work, you would need a work permit. And I am not sure that a company/hospital would go through the hassle to get you a work permit when they could hire a local nurse for (probably) less salary and ease.