Reload this Page >

Living in Thailand with a foreign job

Living in Thailand with a foreign job

Old Dec 1st 2012, 12:29 am
Just Joined

M and M is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Living in Thailand with a foreign job

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for some advice on moving to Thailand and if it would be a viable option for us.

We're a European couple who moved to New Zealand a few years ago. I've got a job working for a British company, who pay me for work I do online for them. I've been doing this for the last 4 years now and have no intention of giving up such a cushy number .

Living in New Zealand and working for a British company has simply meant that I don't pay any tax in the UK, but instead pay all my tax to the New Zealand government.

If we were to move to Thailand does anyone know how this would work? Is there a visa I could get that would allow me to live there long-term? Do you have to have a job working for Thai company to get a long-term visa? Or can you get a visa extension based on my situation of working for a foreign company?

From what I've learned so far, we'd only be able to stay in Thailand for 12 months (leaving every 90 days) and then that would be it for our Thai adventure and we'd have to leave for another country.

Is that right, or am I missing something here?

Cheers
Old Dec 1st 2012, 12:54 am

Alan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond reputeAlan2005 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Living in Thailand with a foreign job