Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Recognised UK (to Australia) teacher Qualifications Confusion - HELP!

Recognised UK (to Australia) teacher Qualifications Confusion - HELP!

Old Feb 4th 2006, 4:17 pm
Forum Regular

Sammy-G will become famous soon enoughSammy-G will become famous soon enough
Default Recognised UK (to Australia) teacher Qualifications Confusion - HELP!

Hi

I'm just finishing my degree here in the UK and plan on doing teacher training in september before returning to OZ (I'm an Aussie citizen with English other half hoping to come out on spouse Visa). I was gonna do the SCITT course but have realised after many hours, days, weeks and emails to education boards in oz that this is not a good idea - a PGCE is really required. SO instead I am applying to some different SCITT courses that also provide a PGCE qualifiction validated by the Open University.

BUT looking at some really old threads I saw that someone was saying that the PGCE has to be done at a Univesrity to be recognised - does anyone know if this is true or if my SCITT PGCE course would count as would be done in school and just validated by the Open University?

I am planning on training to teach English at secondary level and really wanted to do a SCITT as I have heard so much good feedback about that type of course.

Thanks to anyone who can help!

Sam

Last edited by Sammy-G; Feb 4th 2006 at 4:22 pm.
Old Mar 6th 2006, 7:29 am
Forum Regular

Default Re: Recognised UK (to Australia) teacher Qualifications Confusion - HELP!

Just thought i'd post an update on this for anyone else that might be interested.
I have discovered that yes as long as the pgce certificate is provided by a recognised university then all is ok.